It’s Not You, It’s Me

January 25, 2009 at 6:33 am (Movies and TV)

If you are a housewife within spitting distance of 40, wait 10 years before watching Revolutionary Road, or it’ll screw you up pretty good. If you are in my mother’s generation, you will see snapshots of your childhood and wonder how your parents felt.

Everything you hear about the fine acting in this one is true. I have thought well of Kate Winslet since Sense and Sensibility, but it took The Aviator to convince me that DiCaprio was any more than a smug pretty boy. Both are in fine form here, and their chemistry is undeniable. Michael Shannon, another Oscar-nominated actor this season, isn’t anyone I immediately recognize but I thoroughly enjoyed him as the insane guy who tells the truth a bit too much for polite company. How unfortunate for Mr. Shannon that he is up against Heath Ledger. Any other year, he might win.

The only true issue I had with this film is that I’ve already seen it on AMC; on TV it’s called Mad Men. The only difference here is that Winslet’s April is more extreme than her January Jones counterpart, and DiCaprio is less likable, and way less suave than than Don Draper. I love Mad Men and continue to watch it willingly and without discomfort, yet Revolutionary Road hit a nerve. I have more thinking to do about how and why my reaction can be so vastly different between two such similar pieces of entertainment.

Many of us have been through those  breakups where you hear from your soon-to-be ex, “It’s not you, it’s me.” I’ve heard that before, but have never said that before. Now, I find myself in a situation where that’s exactly how I feel about Revolutionary Road. I might have liked it a lot more, had I not been a 38-year-old housewife in life evaluation mode as my youngest prepares for school in the fall. It probably is the picture it’s intended to be, for many who see it. Alas, Revolutionary Road, it’s not you, it’s me.

Leave a Reply

