Golden Globes 2009 Red Carpet

January 12, 2009 at 5:10 pm (Movies and TV)

OK I never do a Red Carpet because I tend to disagree with the powers that be pretty much 90% of the time when it comes to what’s hot and what’s not.  This year, though, my experiment is to hang it all out there and see what REAL PEOPLE think.

First off…Nobody is talking about the fact that Sting’s face looks like a vagina. Sting is only one of the hottest-looking men on earth, so this is incredibly upsetting. Maybe he’s going through yet another midlife crisis. I dunno. All I know is I was not pleased to see the unkempt shrubbery. This was the worst fashion faux-pas of the night, hands down.

It seems that everyone agrees Renee Zellweger forgot the lining part of her dress.  I guess it’s interesting to think of movie stars as regular people who latch their bras, too, but that doesn’t mean we need to SEE it. And as much slam as I’m reading on Mickey Rourke today, I wish people would cut the poor guy a break. He’s been out of this whole scene since the 80’s, so wouldn’t know what else to wear. A guy who thanks his dogs and cusses during his speech…whatever else you say about him, he was the most REAL person in the room. And I hand it to him for that.

Regarding pantsuits at awards shows when you’re female, there’s a right way and a wrong way to do it.

I watched the E! pre-show with Ryan Douchecrest. Two funniest things here, and I’m not even talking about Megan Fox’s admission that she is a trannie…the camera ABRUPTLY cuts as soon as it’s evident Tom Cruise is there with his MOM, not Katie H…and then Douchecrest chases Brangelina on the Carpet and gets snubbed. That. Was. Awesome!!! (Note it’s the only time all night they didn’t use the little arrows pointing to where people were on the Carpet…).

Here are examples of people Yahoo Buzz put on the WORST list who I’d have put on the opposite list: Miley Cyrus (I don’t like her at all but she looked really nice, I thought!). Anne Hathaway just needed a necklace and it would have been perfect. I agree that Mary-Lousie Parker could have done something different with her hair, but does she really deserve to be on the Worst list just for bad hair, when the dress was gorgeous?

Here are example of people Yahoo Buzz put on the BEST list who I’d have put on the opposite list: Why would anyone put Angelina’s garbage bag on a “Best” list? Especially when it looks exactly like the dress she wore to the Critics’ Choice? I don’t know what the hell that was on J-Lo, but it was NOT one of the best dresses of the night…it was a big scarf. Heidi Klum, black bubble wrap and a big gross flower…ew. And, OK, double standard here…if Mary-Louise Parker and that very cool dress can make the Worst List just for bad hair, then why oh why isn’t Drew Barrymore on the Worst List for this hairdo? Dress by Galleano, hair by Eggbeater. At least the LA Times agreed with me on the matter of Eva Mendes and the dress that threw up on itself…the classier version of which was Kate Beckinsale’s impersonation of a callalily. Freida Pinto, the gorgeous star of Slumdog Millionaire, wore a baby-poo gown with pleats and gathers in all the wrong places. I have no explanation for how Jenna Fischer ended up on the Best List with her drapery and lack of bustier. And…who told Amy Adams that her jewelry matched the outfit? Methinks there will be one out-of-work stylist today…

I think everyone knows what my FAVORITE fashion moment of the night was…can I get a Johnny Depp hair flip, please? I sure needed my fix!

1 Comment

  1. coffee said,

    Mickey Rourke’s comeback story reminds me a lot of Robert Downey Jr. for some reason

Leave a Reply

