New Year’s Food, 2009

January 1, 2009 at 8:07 pm (Food)

There are three times per year I tend to outdo myself in the kitchen. One is Oscar Night, one is my husband’s baseball draft in April, and the other is New Year’s. (This year I’ll undoubtedly be adding Inauguration Day!) Now that I have a blog, I can share all my recipes! Granted, most are pulled from the internet, but I promise you’ll love them!

There is no better site on the internet for recipes than Allrecipes.com. I completely swear by it. So without further ado, here’s what’s on the McDonald Family Menu for the 2009 New Year’s Feast!!! The way this works is, the kids clean up around the house and in return, I have to cook them whatever they want. Here’s what they chose this year:

Crab Cakes (One year I had extra crab meat left over from the mushrooms and decided to make them into crab cakes. My daughter LOVES these, and if you have leftovers, they can replace a beef hamburger on a bun with ketchup, mustard, onions, etc.)

Deviled Eggs (A particular favorite of my 11-year-old son, though, for the rest of the night you want to be sitting on the opposite side of the room due to the resulting fumes…)

Crab-Stuffed Mushrooms (This is a recipe I use New Year’s, Oscar Night, AND for the baseball draft. It’s that yummy. They don’t fridge or re-heat well, however, so if you have any left, toss them.)

Crepes Suzette (This being a base crepe recipe which I then make into Crepe Suzette by adding orange peel and a teaspoon of orange juice, and make orange butter and orange sauce including Grand Marnier for the flambe effect when served. This is something I only do on New Year’s Day, and have finally done this enough years that people are looking forward to it.)

Thai Curry Chicken (I stumbled onto this in Parents’ Magazine around October, and it got RAVE reviews from my family. It has become a staple and a favorite.)

Happy New Year! I wish everyone a great 2009 complete with great people,  great times, and GREAT FOOD! Bon Appetit!

Leave a Reply

